University of Durham 

University of Durham

The Durham Group has an international reputation in the application of high resolution x-ray scattering to the study of nanometre scale semiconductor epitaxial layers, beginning when the term “nanotechnology” had not been coined. The lead scientist (Prof. Tanner) is author of the major monograph on X-ray topography (imaging) [1] and co-author of two others on high resolution x-ray diffraction [2] and x-ray metrology [3]. In the past decade, attention in Durham has focused on the role of interface structure on the magnetotransport properties of ultra-thin films and multilayers of transition metals exhibiting giant magnetoresistance [e.g. 4-7]. Extensive use has been made of synchrotron radiation facilities at the Daresbury SRS and at the ESRF. The group has pioneered the application of laboratory-based grazing incidence in-plane diffraction to the study of semiconductors such as the group III nitrides [8]. It also has considerable experience over an extended period of image simulation in X-ray diffraction images e.g. [9]. The University of Durham Physics Department is involved in several EC funded projects and Prof Tanner is presently Training Manager in the on-going RTN ULTRASMOOTH. network. Durham University has a long tradition of organising high level courses (e.g. NATO ASIs) and conferences. It was partner in several HCM Networks and is currently a partner in the EPSRC funded consortium “Spin@RT: Spintronics at room temperature”. The group is equipped with two high resolution x-ray diffractometers, a specialist reflectometer and has direct access to very powerful parallel processing computing facilities.


Professor Brian Tanner (Project Coordinator) moved to Durham in 1973 as a University Lecturer, after holding Junior Research Fellowship at Linacre College, Oxford. Promoted to Senior Lecturer in 1983, Reader in 1986 and Professor in 1990, he served as Head of the Physics Department from 1996-1999. From 1999-2000 he held a Sir James Knott Foundation Fellowship and from 2000-2001 he was a Leverhulme Research Fellow. Since 2001 has as been part-time Director of Technology Transfer at Durham University. He has served on numerous Research Council committees and panels, and from 1998-2000 was chairman of a scientific review committee at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility in Grenoble. In 1978 he co-founded a spin-off company, Bede Scientific Instruments Ltd that floated on the London Stock Exchange in November 2000 as Bede plc.

Professor Tanner is a non-executive director of Bede plc and Chairman of another Durham University spin-off company, Durham Scientific Crystals Ltd. He has published over 350 papers in refereed international scientific journals. His research interests lie in understanding the relationship between magnetic, optical and structural properties of advanced materials, making particular use of high resolution X-ray scattering. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics, a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. He was jointly awarded the 2005 Barrett Award of the Pennsylvania-based International Center for Diffraction Data.

Dajana Dzanovic
Matteo Fossati
Professor Keith Bowen (project coordinator) graduated with MA and DPhil in Metallurgy at Oxford University. At Warwick University from 1968 – 1997, he became Head of the Engineering Department and Director of the Centre for Nanotechnology and Micro-engineering. He held visiting professorships at MIT, and the Universities of Paris and Denver. He has over 130 publications on the theory and application of X-ray techniques, theory of dislocations, and ultra-precision engineering, including the books “High Resolution X-ray Diffraction and Topography” and “X-ray Metrology in Semiconductor Manufacturing” with Professor Tanner. After leaving Warwick he was President of Bede Scientific Incorporated in Denver, USA (1996 – 2002) then Group Director of Technology of Bede plc (2000-2005). Professor Bowen is now Chief Scientist of Bede plc, responsible for RTD development and strategy. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and of the Royal Academy of Engineering. He was jointly awarded the 2005 Barrett Award of the International Center for Diffraction Data. He has been a member of numerous policy and funding panels, including the Management Committee of the UK DTI LINK Nanotechnology programme (1992-1995) and was project monitor on its largest projects. He was the first Chairman of the UK EPSRC Nanotechnology Panel. In the USA he was a member of the National Academy of Science Evaluation Panel for the NIST Physics Laboratory. He has extensive project management experience in university and industry, including management of a €1.5M collaborative programme funded by the UK DTI including four universities (one in Italy) and four industrial companies. He is a Visiting Professor at Durham University.

You are not logged in